Can I record macros or write VBA to run MarketXLS Technical Analysis

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Kevin, Aug 29, 2016.

Can I record macros or write VBA to run MarketXLS Technical Analysis

  1. Kevin

    Kevin New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, new to MarketXLS today, been playing with it all afternoon.  Wondering if can I record macros or write VBA to run MarketXLS Technical Analysis.  If I set up a number of tabs with separate stock symbols I'd like to push a single button to run my favorite Technical Analysis on them without repeating the steps for each stock.  I did try recording keystrokes but that did not do the trick.

    Thanks,

    Kevin
     
  2. marketxls

    marketxls Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hi Kevin,

    Sure, let me come back to you on this.

    Kind regards
    Ankur for MarketXLS
     
  3. JAKE123

    JAKE123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Ankur
    Has it been resolved how to run macros within Excel? I am just looking to retrieve data for a number of symbols and want to automate this

    Thanks, Jake
     
  4. marketxls

    marketxls Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hi Jake,

    For technical analysis yes you can.

    Kind regards
    Ankur
     
  5. Jack_S

    Jack_S New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ankur. Great service, but I need to update historic values with a VBA Macro. This does not seem to work. How do I do this.
    I tried to do a "Record" function with Excel. It did not learn. Is there code I can insert into a VBA Macro to get the historic values, from a specific date to "Today"?

    The "Record" function did not seem to work for "Update" ether. I do not want the continuous update or the timed update. Too much else going on with the computer.. I just want the data to update when commanded from the Macro.

    Again, if this is not something that can be "learned" in a "Record" macro, is there code I can insert into the VBA Macro to have this run?

    Thanks.
     
  6. RBruce

    RBruce New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need help on this as well, I record a macro and it is there yet when I reopen the document the Macro is gone. What is the work around to this?
     
  7. marketxls

    marketxls Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hi Jack,

    There is already a kind of "macro" built in to update marketxls historical tables.
    Just select anywhere in the table of MarketXLS and click on this button.
    upload_2017-12-17_3-1-23.png

    Thanks
     
  8. marketxls

    marketxls Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hi,

    If you keep the macro in a module and save the file, the macro should not go away.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page